Schiffe-Schadstoffe-Sanierung

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Competenza GmbH

 

 

 

 

 

 

SHIPS - POLLUTANTS - REMEDIATION

 

 

 

 

 

 

Concepts for the collection and remediation of pollutants on ships

 

As experts in the field of indoor pollutants, we can use our experience and know-how to solve the issue of pollution occurrence on ships. The legal international and national requirements for the protection of humans and the environment also apply to shipping.

 

Background, legal bases, deadlines

 

The Hong Kong International Convention for the Safe and Environmentally Sound Recycling of Ships (HKC) is an agreement for worldwide improvements for the environmentally friendly recycling of ships and for working conditions in demolition shipyards and demolition operations. It was adopted by the member states of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) in Hong Kong in May 2009.

 

The Maritime Environment Protection Committee (MEPC) published the MEPC Directive in May 2015.269(68) (Guidelines for the Development of the Inventory of Hazardous Materials).

 

The IMO sets the framework with the HKC and the internationally valid MEPC directive.269(68), which regulate the mandatory collection of hazardous materials (HazMat) on existing ships. In December 2013, the EU Ship Recycling Regulation (EU-SRR) came into force.

 

A major requirement of both regulations is the creation of an Inventory of Hazardous Materials (IHM) for new and existing ships and platforms.

 

The following IHM deadlines have been set for vessels over 500 GT:

  • From the end of 2016, recycling ships must embark on their last voyage with a certified IHM/hazardous substances register.
  • New ships must be equipped with a certified IHM from the end of 2015.
  • Existing ships flying the EU flag and ships calling at EU countries (irrespective of the flag flying) must have a certified IHM by 31 December 2020 at the latest.

The HKC and EU-SRR apply to existing ships and new ships over 500 GT, which means that approximately 50,000 ships need an IHM recording the hazardous substances such as asbestos, PCB, ozone-depleting substances and TBT-containing ship paints (+ PFOS [perfluorooctane sulphonic acid] on EU ships e.g. possible in extinguishing foam).

 

In addition, the 1974 International Convention for the Safety of Life At Sea (ICSLS) and the MSC regulate this.1/Circular 1374 of 3 December 2010, "Information on the prohibition on the use of asbestos on board ships", stated that materials containing asbestos which were installed on ships after mid-2002 must be dismantled or remediated within 3 years of their detection.

 

Current status

 

Experience shows that, despite the ban, materials containing asbestos are found again and again, e.g. in fire blankets, connections and insulating materials, sealants, brake linings, wall and ceiling linings, cables, material residues, electrical fuses, etc. and also new ships declared asbestos-free after repair work and/or the purchase of spare parts had asbestos on board.

 

Stricter PSC (Port State Control) controls on asbestos in the Netherlands and New Zealand are used to check compliance with international regulations. If these are not met or serious deficiencies are found, the ships may be detained.

 

Why Competenza?

 

Expertise and experience determine the success or failure of pollutant collection and remediation. The collection of pollutants in ships and the creation of complete, meaningful inventories of hazardous materials (IHM) are the indispensable basis for targeted pollutant remediation or for the dismantling of pollutants in the course of ship recycling. Without IHM, neither a suitable recycling facility can be selected, nor can the recycling company's safety-related planning be carried out.

 

Our experienced experts (approved HazMat experts, DNV GL) and in-house laboratories (accredited according to DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2005, D-PL-14469-01-00) can clarify whether ships are asbestos free and crews safe in advance by creating a complete and meaningful IHM.

 

Besides the known pollutants like asbestos, synthetic mineral fibres or PCB, other pollutants such as PAHs, CFC, organotin compounds (TBT), heavy metals such as cadmium or lead, and also oils and fuels pose a significant problem. Here, too, we are happy to offer you our support.

 

Would you like to know more about the inventory of hazardous materials (IHM)? Of course, we are at your disposal for any questions concerning this complex topic. Rely on our competence and many years of experience in the introduction and implementation of new standards.

 

Contact point for further information:      

Rolf Heykes

Hamburg Office

Tel.: +49 40 18 01 79 96

E-Mail: r.heykes@competenza.com

 

Cengiz Sisova

Frankfurt Office

Tel.: +49 6103 20 01 16 0

E-Mail: c.sisova@competenza.com

 

Mr. Mehmet Emin Yaşar

Istanbul Office

Mobile: +90 530 347 59 54

E-Mail: me.yasar@competenza.com

Schiffe-Schadstoffe-Sanierung

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Competenza GmbH

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCHIFFE - SCHADSTOFFE - SANIERUNG

 

 

 

 

 

 

Konzepte zur Erfassung und Sanierung von Schadstoffen auf Schiffen

 

Als Experten für Innenraumschadstoffe können wir unsere Erfahrung und unser Know-how auch für die Problematik der Schadstoffvorkommen auf Schiffen einsetzen. Die gesetzlichen internationalen und nationalen Vorgaben zum Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt gelten auch für die Schifffahrt.

 

Hintergrund, rechtliche Grundlagen, Fristen

Das internationale Übereinkommen von Hongkong über das sichere und umweltverträgliche Recycling von Schiffen (International Hong Kong Convention for the Safe and Environmentally Sound Recycling of Ships [HKC]) ist eine Vereinbarung für weltweite Verbesserungen für umweltfreundliches Recycling von Schiffen und für die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Abbruchwerften bzw. Abbruchbetrieben. Sie wurde bereits im Mai 2009 von den Mitgliedsstaaten der internationalen Seeschifffahrts-Organisation (International Maritime Organization [IMO]) in Hong Kong verabschiedet.

 

Der Ausschuss für den Schutz der Meeresumwelt (Maritime Environment Protection Committee [MEPC]) veröffentlichte im May 2015 die Richtlinie MEPC.269(68) (Guidelines for the Development of the Inventory of Hazardous Materials).

 

Die IMO setzt den Rahmen mit der HKC und der international gültigen Richtlinie MEPC.269(68), die die zwingend erforderliche Erhebung von Schadstoffvorkommen (hazardous materials [HazMat]) auf Bestandsschiffen regeln. Im Dezember 2013 trat die EU-Verordnung über das Recycling von Schiffen (EU Ship Recycling Regulation [EU-SRR]) in Kraft.

 

Eine Hauptforderung beider Regelwerke ist die Erstellung von Gefahrstoffkataster (Inventory of Hazardous Materials [IHM]) für neue und existierende Schiffe und Plattformen.

 

Folgende IHM-Fristen wurden für Schiffe über 500 GT festgelegt:

  • Recycling-Schiffe müssen ab Ende 2016 mit einer zertifizierten IHM / Gefahrstoffkataster auf die letzte Reise gehen.
  • Neubauten müssen ab Ende 2015 mit einer zertifizierten IHM ausgestattet sein.
  • existierende Schiffe unter EU-Flagge und die EU anlaufenden Schiffe (unabhängig von der geführten Flagge) müssen spätestens am 31. Dezember 2020 eine zertifizierte IHM vorweisen.

Die HKC und EU-SRR gelten für Bestandsschiffe und Neubauten über 500GT, dadurch sind ca. 50.000 Schiffe betroffen, die eine IHM benötigen, in der die Gefahrstoffe wie Asbest, PCB, Ozon abbauende Stoffe und TBT-haltige Schiffs-Anstriche (+ PFOS [Perfluoroktansulfonsäure] auf EU-Schiffen z.B. möglich in Löschschaum) erfasst sein müssen.

 

Darüber hinaus regelt das internationale Übereinkommen von 1974 zum Schutz des menschlichen Lebens auf See (International Convention for the Safety Of Life At Sea [SOLAS]) und das MSC.1/Rundschreiben 1374 vom 3. Dezember 2010 „Informationen zum Verbot der Verwendung von Asbest an Bord von Schiffen“, dass asbesthaltige Materialien, die nach Mitte 2002 verbotenerweise auf Schiffen verbaut wurden, innerhalb von 3 Jahren nach deren Feststellung, rückgebaut/saniert werden müssen.

 

Aktueller Status

Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass trotz des Verbots asbesthaltige Werkstoffe immer wieder gefunden werden wie z.B. in Feuerlöschdecken, Verbindungen und Isoliermaterialien, Dichtungsmitteln, Bremsbelägen, Wand- und Deckenverkleidungen, Kabeln, Materialresten, elektrischen Sicherungen etc. und zudem asbestfrei deklarierte Neubauten nach Reparaturarbeiten und/ oder des Erwerbs von Ersatzteilen Asbest an Bord hatten.

 

Durch verschärfte PSC-Kontrollen (Port State Control) auf Asbest in den Niederlanden und Neuseeland wird die Einhaltung der internationalen Vorgaben überprüft. Werden diese nicht erfüllt bzw. schwerwiegende Mängel festgestellt, können die Schiffe festgehalten werden.

 

Warum Competenza?

Fachwissen und Erfahrung bestimmen über Erfolg oder Misserfolg bei der Schadstofferfassung und -sanierung. Die Schadstofferhebung in Schiffen und die Erstellung von vollständigen, aussagekräftigen Schadstoffkatastern (IHM) sind die unumgängliche Basis für eine zielgerichtete Schadstoffsanierung oder für die Demontage der Schadstoffe im Zuge des Schiffsrecyclings. Ohne IHM kann weder eine passende Recycling Facility ausgewählt, noch eine sicherheitstechnische Planung des Recycling-Unternehmens durchgeführt werden.

 

Unsere erfahrenen Experten (Approved HazMat Experts, DNV GL) und hausinternen Labore (Akkreditiert nach DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2005, D-PL-14469-01-00) können durch die Erstellung einer vollständigen und aussagekräftigen IHM die Frage der Asbestfreiheit und die Sicherheit der Crew vorab klären.

 

Neben den bekannten Schadstoffen wie Asbest, künstlichen Mineralfasern (KMF) oder PCB gelten weitere wie PAK, FCKW, Organozinnverbindungen (TBT), Schwermetalle wie Cadmium oder Blei sowie auch Öle und Kraftstoffe als erhebliches Problem. Auch hier bieten wir Ihnen unsere Unterstützung gerne an.

 

Möchten Sie gerne mehr über Gefahrstoffkataster (IHM) erfahren? Selbstverständlich stehen wir Ihnen für Fragen rund um das komplexe Thema zur Verfügung. Vertrauen Sie auf unsere Kompetenz und langjährige Erfahrung bei der Einführung und Umsetzung neuer Standards.

 

Ansprechpartner:      

Rolf Heykes

Niederlassung Hamburg

Tel.: +49 40 18 01 79 96

E-Mail: r.heykes@competenza.com

 

Cengiz Sisova

Niederlassung Frankfurt

Tel.: +49 6103 20 01 16 0

E-Mail: c.sisova@competenza.com